Role playing games (RPG) for social skill development?

Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

jsimon7777
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

15 Jul 2012, 9:22 pm

I am a tutor and have several students with autism of some form or another. I recognized for one, a teenager, that role playing might be his thing, so I took him to play Dungeons and Dragons. He loves it with a passion, and afterwards, I noticed a dramatic difference in his behavior. He's still him, but he manages some social skills better. Would you, as a parent, be interested in having your child play a role playing game to develop social skills? It seems much more effective than the insignificant things changes I've seen from social groups. This isn't a sales speech. I'm just interested in opinions.

FalsettoTesla
Veteran
Veteran

15 Jul 2012, 9:37 pm

jsimon7777 wrote:
I am a tutor and have several students with autism of some form or another. I recognized for one, a teenager, that role playing might be his thing, so I took him to play Dungeons and Dragons. He loves it with a passion, and afterwards, I noticed a dramatic difference in his behavior. He's still him, but he manages some social skills better. Would you, as a parent, be interested in having your child play a role playing game to develop social skills? It seems much more effective than the insignificant things changes I've seen from social groups. This isn't a sales speech. I'm just interested in opinions.

Wouldn't it make more sense to ask people on the spectrum if they would be interested in that, rather than the parents? I mean, they're the ones who are going to be doing it. It doesn't matter if the parents want that if the kids are fundamentally opposed.

Personally, I've found that playing the Sims (particularly 2 and 3) has made me understand the mechanics of social situations slightly better (although in a simplistic way).