Research on workplace experiences

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

randar
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

29 Nov 2006, 12:37 am

Hi Everyone, I am currently a student of the Milgard School of Business at the University of Washington, in Tacoma, Washington. I am researching a paper for my Effective Managerial Communications class on the best ways to integrate high functioning autistics or AS into the workplace. I was hoping you might share recent work experiences with me via email or within this forum.
1. I am interested in reading about your best experiences and worst experiences.
2. Which environments worked for you and which didn’t?
3. What industries and fields you feel best fit your skill set?
4. How did your social interactions with colleagues affect your job?
5. Did your supervisors and/or colleagues know you had AS?
6. Is there anything specific your supervisors could have done to help or prevent difficulties?
7. If you could include your gender and age, that was also be helpful.

I apologize if these questions are vague and would be happy with any information you are willing to share. I will be collecting this data until December 1, 2006.

I think it is also important to mention, I am the mother of a 5-year-old autistic son and I am anxious to create a world that accepts him for who he is, not for who the world thinks he should be. Any information you share will be helpful and confidential. I would also be happy to forward you a copy of the finished paper in mid December.

Thank you,
:D
Rachael Randall
[email protected]
206-852-2263

krex
Veteran
Veteran

29 Nov 2006, 2:29 am

I just ordered several books about this topic which I should be receiving soon.This is ,by far, my biggest concern and stresser.I am 43 and have been working off and on since I was 16.I will give you as brief a synopsis as I can.