I'm coining a new term for Aspies: "Wizard of Oz Syndro

Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

realitysucks
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

01 Sep 2012, 8:18 am

If you didn't see the movie the idea is a figure who SEEMS much smarter/intellectual/etc but in reality is quite below average but projects greater intellect thru subterfuge, superficiality, or distorting their ability.

I take myself, always called a genius, but I was barely able to get decent grades in school (to get an A I would practically study 24/7). I have very disorganized thinking, terrible planning, short term memory, etc.

Why? I was able to get a cursory knowledge of arcane subjects and talk about them. Despite having an Engineering degree I can barely solve any problem of difficulty or design something. Despite being A MATH INSTRUCTOR IN COLLEGE - I get a very embarrassing score on the GRE and was rejected from many grad programs. BUT YET I WAS A COLLEGE INSTRUCTOR FOR YEARS! I taught computers as well.

I work in software now, I can ace any interview with my knowledge of minutiae but I have a severe difficulty in writing any substantial code. I think ADHD has a role in this as well.

I do pick up skills like car repair and carpentry, and eventually become great at it, but it takes me forever to complete the task or I'll leave things unfinished(big issue).

At one time people told me I would be the next Einstein - this came from a few teachers and principals! In reality now I can't even keep a job, and with my work history I may be case for disability!

zxy8
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

01 Sep 2012, 8:20 am

A wizard is not real though.

realitysucks
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

01 Sep 2012, 8:32 am

zxy8 wrote:

Neither are my "exceptional" abilities....

zxy8
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

01 Sep 2012, 8:34 am

realitysucks wrote:
zxy8 wrote:

Wizards are not real period. Abilities are real - it is just the level of them that varies. However they can be real, therefore not related to wizards.

Plodder