Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Wanderingronin42
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

26 Sep 2012, 8:03 pm

Hi, I am a sci-fi writer by hobby and I am interested in talking with others that share my passion?

Giftorcurse
Veteran
Veteran

26 Sep 2012, 8:11 pm

I'm working on a psychological sci-fi conspiracy horror/thriller. So yes, I'm into it, like you.

redrobin62
Veteran
Veteran

26 Sep 2012, 8:18 pm

I'm a writer and I've written in these genres - general, horror, sci-fi, crime, historical fiction, fantasy and the occasional fairy tale.

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

26 Sep 2012, 8:52 pm

My current efforts are limited to Stargate fanfic pieces.

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

Wanderingronin42

26 Sep 2012, 9:10 pm

What do all of think is the most important part of the genre? I have been attempting to figure this out on my own, but also taking advice for the masters such Clarke, Herbert, Heinlein, and Asimov.

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

26 Sep 2012, 9:13 pm

Wanderingronin42 wrote:
What do all of think is the most important part of the genre?

Character-driven stories, wherein the "SciFi" backdrop is minimized.

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

redrobin62
Veteran
Veteran

26 Sep 2012, 9:59 pm

This has been my problem. I'm such a left-brained action-driven writer that it's costs me jobs sometimes. I recently had a horror novella rejected. The publisher said it read like a screenplay and the story needed to be fleshed out. He was right. I've written six screenplays and my approach is very linear. I don't like interruptions for exposition and the like. Very hard to get around sometimes.

Wanderingronin42

27 Sep 2012, 10:08 am