Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

thechadmaster
Veteran
Veteran

30 Sep 2012, 3:47 pm

Greetings fellow WP'ers.

Perhaps this belongs in the work/job forum, I think its relevant here but I will let the moderators decide that one.

I started a new job about two months ago. I now work in a an automotive parts, tires, and service store. My background is general retail with a focus on convenience/gasoline (hereafter referred to as "C/G". I was a store manager for a convenience store chain for about 9 months, but thats a story for a different thread.

This new job is difficult to say the least. It is a retail establishment but has a MUCH higher sales aspect than the C/G business. For starters, my boss has been dx'ed with OCD, his attention to detail is astonishing. I am less detail oriented, but detail oriented in different ways.

One of my biggest issues is dealing with people on the phone. People call in with vague questions and get upset when I cant give them an exact answer. The most common call I get is "my car wont start, whats wrong with it?". I explain that there could be a hundred different causes that I cannot diganose without seeing the car. I had someone say "well smarta** i cant bring it in if it aint starting so you're gonna have to give me an answer"

My biggest pet peeve is being talked down to, cursed at, and generally being treated like crap. I now have to call people and tell them that their car is fixed or it needs whatever repairs. Of course the people have questions that I dont have answers to. I had a customer ask me to get someone on the phone "who isn't a complete ret*d". I am now afraid of answering the phone, even my own.

As for my dealings with management.