Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Ralph_Lucas
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

16 Oct 2012, 1:13 pm

Obtaining and cleaning data, and making use of it.

I am looking for someone to help me with the exacting (needs accuracy and consistency), tedious (there is a lot of it, and it is very repetitive) and challenging (needs imagination) work of digging up data, cleaning it and making it consistent, and finding ways of making use of it.

Working from home. Timing and amount of work negotiable. No deadlines.

You would need a good Internet connection, and a strong desire to learn computer programming if you are not already adept.

Rate of pay low to begin with, depends on how much you get done in an hour once I get to know you.

Ralph Lucas
The Good Schools Guide

Larsen80
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

16 Oct 2012, 1:51 pm

Sounds a lot like what I do for a living. I work with data management at a medical research department. To me, that job description sounds very interesting, except for the part "finding ways of making use of it" [the data]. It is very important to me that my work has an inherent meaning and I'm not burdened with justifying what I do.

Robdemanc
Veteran
Veteran

16 Oct 2012, 1:53 pm

Possibly it would interest me. What are the details? Are you talking about existing database cleansing? Or are you talking about collecting data and data entry?

IrishTusk
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

16 Oct 2012, 2:08 pm

I'm a bin man. . . Last month I was a waiter. .. the month before that a Barman. Before that a Labourer, and I can garentee you before Xmas I'll be a factory worker.

But a computing job. . . Must say can't do it, I need to move.

Still very interesting seeing posts like this!

cathylynn
Veteran
Veteran

16 Oct 2012, 2:52 pm

what kind of data are we talking about? scientific? financial? market research?