Page 1 of 3 [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

pawelk1986
Veteran
Veteran

15 Nov 2012, 7:55 am

I know it sounds weird but in my kitchen, and actually my mom's kitchen, no microwave oven, my mom is terrified of them. Well, maybe I exaggerate a little. My mom is an electrician by profession, in fact she was an electrician in his youth, then worked mainly in the office, but I think that the electro-technical education of my mother made her oversensitive over radiation
I wanted to buy a microwave oven for home, my mom in fact is not the opposition but also not very happy, says that microwaves emit dangerous electromagnetic radiation on human health, my mom is very sensitive over radiation issue,

After all, microwave does not produce radiation that could harm human?

Kenjuudo
Veteran
Veteran

15 Nov 2012, 9:05 am

Ever wondered why microwave ovens always have some sort of net on the door window? That functions like a Faraday cage. The Faraday cage will prevent the microwaves from escaping the oven. It's safe. Promise.

Species5618
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

15 Nov 2012, 9:26 am

Of course the radiation that microwave ovens produce is dangerous. I wouldn't recommend putting a living object in it unless you intend on killing it. The microwave radiation heats up any water present in the object in the oven, so any biological tissue is very efficiently heated up. The radiation from a microwave is relatively low in energy, which means it doesn't ionize things it hits. That means that microwave radiation doesn't cause cancer in the way that ionizing radiation can.