Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Frieslander
Veteran
Veteran

20 Nov 2012, 12:09 pm

Can anyone who is an electrical engineer or who is a EE major tell me, in fairly non-technical terms, why rechargeable AAA and AA batteries are 1.2 volts instead of the 1.5 volts like their non-rechargeable counterparts? I know a little physics (two semesters of the non-calculus based physics), some chemistry (had a chemistry minor), and a bit of math (one semester of calculus which involved more application and proofs of how the derivatives were formed).

theWanderer
Veteran
Veteran

20 Nov 2012, 1:16 pm

I am not an electrical engineer, and I may be wrong, but I've heard it is either impossible or too expensive/difficult to make a battery which can be recharged so it will discharge a precise voltage. In other words, when you put it in a charger and then use it, it may output a slightly different voltage than intended. There's a certain amount of "wiggle room" in the end result. Thus, I believe it's essentially a design decision - if the precise output may vary, to keep it low enough to avoid any possibility of causing harm to the devices the batteries are used in. (Too low a voltage may cause problems in a few cases, but is not likely except under incredibly unusual circumstances to result in damage - even a slight overvoltage will damage some delicate components.)

For that matter, batteries may be officially rated at 1.5 volts - but I've tested brand new batteries whose output fell as low as 1.3 volts... And the voltmeter I used was accurate enough I have no reason to doubt it. I've never tested onewhich put out too high a voltage - again, I presume manufacturers are more careful to avoid the scenario which would result in their product causing damage.

===================
In the country of the blind, the one eyed man - would be diagnosed with a psychological disorder

BTDT
Veteran
Veteran

20 Nov 2012, 2:19 pm