Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Bill92
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

26 Nov 2012, 11:18 pm

Hi all.
I had this really amazing experience today that I thought some of you might like to hear about.

Firstly, I'm an Aspie. Most people who meet me today however wouldn't know it as I've learned to adapt to life on the wrong planet (yeah, I did that :P ) rather well, but believe me, I can lecture on the aerodynamic properties of race cars and the policies of Egyptian Pharoahs like no other :) .

Secondly, and more importantly, I work as a writing tutor at my university. I help undergraduate and graduate students from all disciplines write papers for their classes while teaching them the nuances of English (and sometimes Spanish) grammar along the way. I love my job and I'm so honored that I have the opportunity to use my talents to help others.

Today, a freshman came in to work on a paper for his history 101 class. The session began as any other; I took down his name, asked him which class the paper was for, and whether or not he wanted me to notify his professor of our meeting. This done, we began discussing his paper. Within seconds, I became aware of a certain uneasiness in his demeanor, a certain sharpness in his voice which said, "I'm really nervous right now." What that voice was articulating however were words of sheer brilliance and the words he had written matched the intelligence of that voice. I realized that I was sitting mere inches from one of my own: an Aspie.