As an aspie what do you do for a living?

Page 1 of 6 [ 85 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

polo6068
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

02 Dec 2012, 3:48 pm

i'm just curious to hear what many people with Asperger's syndrome do as an occupation, do you do a job that is heavily involved in your special interest or not?
what is your special interest? just curious

Last edited by polo6068 on 02 Dec 2012, 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

02 Dec 2012, 3:53 pm

I clean at an old people's home, 3 days a week.

Wish I could get a job related to do my special interests, but that's easily said than done at the moment.

polo6068
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

02 Dec 2012, 3:55 pm

I don't mean to sound nosy but what is your special interest?

AndreasF
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

02 Dec 2012, 3:56 pm

I do television production for a living as a technician.

This is one of my absolute interests too and everything I learn.. Well, you know the rest :D

It's on freelance basis and I've been selfemployed for 11 years now.
I can't see myself with a "regular" job as I tend to develop myself a lot faster than the enviroment around me.

DVCal
Veteran
Veteran

02 Dec 2012, 3:58 pm

I work for the government as an analyst.

dyingofpoetry
Veteran
Veteran

02 Dec 2012, 3:59 pm

Ironically, I'm a Life Skills educator for a homelessness recovery... but I'm also a poet and playwright, and speak and write on autism
spectrum disorders

Teaching Life Skills pays the bills though (barely).

Writing is always related to my special interesta (medieval history, astrology, astronomy, silent films), but the LS training really has nothing to do with it and I find it rather boring.

Last edited by dyingofpoetry on 02 Dec 2012, 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hauge
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

02 Dec 2012, 4:02 pm

Working with youngsters with special needs, and as IT-Tech/admin, at the same place.
- 26 hours a week...