Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Magnus_Rex
Veteran
Veteran

05 Jan 2013, 3:02 pm

Now I will stop doing my normal activities (things like scanning documents, organizing files and paying bills) and start working on accountancy, which is the profession I studied for.

However, there may be a catch. A little background information:

I did not go to university; instead, I studied at a "escola técnica" (translation: technical school; in other words, vocational education). It only lasts 1,5 year and it is focused on practical skills. My manager has been telling me for a few months that I should enroll in a college. I enrolled in one of the best universities in Brazil a few months ago (just because I could; the government would lend me the money anyway 8) ), but since I was never really interested in going back to school for four more years (I never liked school: too many people and too many useless activities, not to mention my tendency to self-teach and ignore the homework; it is just a reminder of how weird I am), I dropped out after 2 months, before the course even began (it would begin only on February).

Anyway, I was talking about the catch. The catch is: when she told me of my promotion, she asked about my university enrollment and I told her I cancelled it. She was not too happy, but did not insist. However, she said this new job I will start is intended to be a transition to another promotion; one year from now, I will hopefully be working on higher education and getting another promotion. Which implies that I will only get another promotion if I go to college. Which I really do not want. For now, I will just concentrate on my new job and see if I can do one of the following:

1 - Convince myself that university is not so bad (even though Bill Freaking Gates only became who he is because he dropped out and followed his dreams);

2 - convince her that I am competent enough to do my job without wasting four years studying.