Page 1 of 2 [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Arran
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

26 Jan 2013, 6:29 am

Is anybody here fluent in classical Arabic and has read the original Arabic Qu'ran?

MCalavera
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jan 2013, 6:30 am

I have read various verses in Arabic ... and am happy to read a verse or two in Arabic for you. I'm not an expert in classical Arabic, but I can do just fine most times.

Tequila
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jan 2013, 6:36 am

Arran wrote:
Is anybody here fluent in classical Arabic and has read the original Arabic Qu'ran?

That would exclude the vast majority of the world's Muslims, because the vast, vast majority of them can't speak Classical Arabic. Or, indeed, much if any Arabic.

Didn't I hear tell that the Quran wasn't written in Classical Arabic but something like Syriac?

Cei
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

26 Jan 2013, 7:22 am

Most definitely not. I plan on learning, though.

Tequila
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jan 2013, 7:32 am

Cei wrote:

I wish you the best of luck and I'm quite sincere about that.

The recitation of Quranic verses in Arabic via the adhan does have a kind of haunting beauty to them as kafir, but I wouldn't want to be woken up by it at 5:30am in the morning any more than you'd want to have this blasted at you at the same time:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48YxyR-PSi8[/youtube](Yes, I still miss it and I still think it should be put back there.)

MCalavera
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jan 2013, 7:53 am

Cei wrote:

Might take a good while to master classical Arabic. Even Arabic-speaking people like me struggle with it at times.

Tequila
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jan 2013, 8:06 am

MCalavera wrote:
Might take a good while to master classical Arabic. Even Arabic-speaking people like me struggle with it at times.

I think it's cruel, myself.

MCalavera
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jan 2013, 9:14 am

Tequila wrote:
MCalavera wrote:

I think it's cruel, myself.

In what way?

Tequila
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jan 2013, 9:16 am

MCalavera wrote:
In what way?