Anyone here really passionate about singing?

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Sanctus
Veteran
Veteran

09 Feb 2013, 7:28 pm

I've loved singing ever since I was very young. With 5 years I started singing random melodies I made up, and used English lyrics - or actually rather what I thought was English because I actually couldn't speak it yet. :D

However I started getting more serious about it with about 12. I had a few singing lessons, but I'm mostly self-taught. I think right now I am good with the potential of becoming amazing. At one point I considered studying singing and making it my job, but I didn't want to destroy the joy of a passion by making it a routine. And I think I wouldn't have been accepted anyway - I know only little music theory and am not very interested in it either. I do however want to join one or more bands one day and sing on (paid) gigs one day, making it a (profitable) big hobby. The main problems with that are my social anxiety and my stage fright. :?

windtreeman
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

09 Feb 2013, 8:55 pm

I don't actually think I'm a very naturally gifted vocalist (unlike my art and guitar playing ;)) so I've really had to work for every ounce of ability I've drummed up over the last few years but, like you, the stage fright/anxiety keeps me from performing :/. Shoot, I won't even sing karaoke in front of a group of drunks, which baffles people who've enjoyed my music. Anyway, I think people who were born to sing and not only have the natural talent, but love it, too, are special and I hope you find a way to share (and profit from) it.

hadapurpura
Veteran
Veteran

09 Feb 2013, 9:18 pm