he 'culture' of historically black colleges/universities - S

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Warsie
Veteran
Veteran

02 Mar 2013, 3:42 am

Welllll. I will probably transfer sometime this year or next year. I have a question: How....aspie-friend if the culture at HBCUs? I've heard rumors that there are some annoying douchebags at some institutes. And some are full of annoying restrictions. Because of that I'm not applying to Morehouse

I was thinking of either Howard of Hampton Universities to transfer to.

Note: am a black person. So no racial issues are a problem.

I remember some woman here 'nirrty rachele' went to a HBCU or something.

Aspinator
Veteran
Veteran

02 Mar 2013, 9:58 am

I got my degree from an historically black university (I am white). For me it was like getting 2 educations for the price of one. Sitting in a class and you are the only white person in that class led to real soul searching. I did not experience any racism from any students (although I experienced some from older black people who worked in administration)

Warsie
Veteran
Veteran

02 Mar 2013, 4:53 pm

ok. anythign else to tell me plz?

OliveOilMom
Veteran
Veteran

03 Mar 2013, 1:26 pm

I have no idea, but the kids have a friend who is going to one on a scholarship and he's white. He doesn't seem to have any problems with it and loves school. He's about on the absolute opposite end of any possible spectrum from aspie though. Very athletic and outgoing, party boy, loud, somewhat obnoxious after even one drink and usually a bit obnoxious all the time. Although he doesn't have any problems with the school, his teachers may have some problems with him because he's a know it all. No racism involved at all, but adults usually do have problems with this kid because of his attitude. He's a sweet boy and I love him to death, but he's just hard on the nerves.