Do you ask other people questions about themselves?

Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

hurtloam
Veteran
Veteran

05 Mar 2013, 11:10 am

This is a long story, but I ended up in a room full of NTs the other day and they were complainng about someone they know who never seems to ask them questions about themselves.

I do think that the world is divided up into question askers and story tellers. I am a story teller, but I'm not good at asking questions. And I realised that this is maybe why I find it difficult to form bonds with other people. I don't know if it looks like I'm not interested in them if I don't ask questions, but I don't want to pry, so figure if they want to tell me something they will do it voluntarily.

The NTs in the room were aghast at my explaination. They said to me, "but I would want to know." I said it's not about not wanting to know (ok maybe it is a little) but I guess they were just justifying themselves and saying that they weren't prying our of rudeness when they ask questions they're just interested in learning about other people, which is fine.

This is the first time I've realised that people may be offended if you don't ask them about their lives and give them a chance to show off a little.

Every day is a school day.

Random42
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

05 Mar 2013, 11:20 am

Everything I've read about how to have a conversation says to ask the other person questions. I do TRY to do this when I remember too but it doesn't really feel natural.

WrongWay
Toucan
Toucan

05 Mar 2013, 11:21 am

I do. I wouldn't go as far as calling it 'rude' not to ask questions or complain about it though. However it's nice to ask questions as it shows you're interested in them and not just yourself. Many questions are perfectly safe to ask - if you're not sure you can say something like 'do you mind if I ask about...'

paxfilosoof
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

05 Mar 2013, 11:23 am