Page 1 of 7 [ 97 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

Salome
Toucan
Toucan

16 Jun 2013, 12:17 pm

I just started a course in maths and need help!
I can't pay and I'm somewhat hopeless hence the request for someone passionate. I'm guessing you really need to love maths and enjoy explaining it to be able to help me.
I'm studying equations, functions and polynomials at the moment.

Kurgan
Veteran
Veteran

16 Jun 2013, 12:27 pm

Salome wrote:
I can't pay and I'm somewhat hopeless hence the request for someone passionate. I'm guessing you really need to love maths and enjoy explaining it to be able to help me.

What parts of the math are you struggling with? Do a search on Khan Academy on YouTube; this has pretty much everything you need to know about both calculus and pre-calculus.

Good luck! :)

JDC6776
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

16 Jun 2013, 12:30 pm

Ok, post some problems and we can work them out here. I find math very comforting since it's based on concrete rules and can be proven unlike abstract theories.

Vectorspace
Veteran
Veteran

16 Jun 2013, 12:49 pm

What kind of help do you need? If you have questions, just ask them (in this thread, for example).
(I already gave some tutoring to future high-school math teachers, so I think I should be skilled enough. :))

If you need "real-time" help, it's OK every now and then, too.

slave
Veteran
Veteran

16 Jun 2013, 3:56 pm

Salome wrote:

There are many WPers with non-trivial knowledge of Maths and even a few Mathematicians, so ask away!
Nothing you could ask will exceed the knowledge of those on this site.

Vectorspace
Veteran
Veteran

16 Jun 2013, 3:57 pm

slave wrote:

Is P=NP?

ruveyn
Veteran
Veteran

16 Jun 2013, 4:16 pm

Vectorspace wrote:
slave wrote:

Is P=NP?

Nobody knows. It is one of the Great Unsolved Problems.

The prevailing opinion is No, but that is just an opinion.

ruveyn

Salome
Toucan
Toucan

16 Jun 2013, 5:30 pm

Thanks for answering everybody!