Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

CrayolaViolence
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

11 Jul 2013, 1:59 pm

This is my first post here, so bear with me. It will probably be a little long.
I am a writer and was recently doing some research on autism when I came across information that left me with a lot of questions. Let me tell you a little bit about me first. For the majority of my life I have dealt with a lot of social issues. Uncomfortable away from home, easily distracted, uncomfortable around people I don't know, not comfortable with being touched by people I don't know, etc These problems are severe enough that I was never able to hold a job outside my home and had to come up with more creative ways to make a living.
Now, having said that, in the past I have actually wondered whether or not I could be on the autism spectrum but it was rarely more than a passing thought until recently when I was doing the research I mentioned.
A few things that I have always known about myself are, I can rarely hold eye contact with someone if I don't know them and even then it's fleeting. Sometimes I can force myself to hold it but inevitably I fail. I was made aware of this when I was in school and actually had teachers bring it up with my mother. Later on this same problem caused me to be passed over at job interviews.