Is it tough to get jobs?
Yes 93%  93%  [ 41 ]
No 7%  7%  [ 3 ]
Total votes : 44

Rubi
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

12 Jul 2013, 9:58 pm

Hi, We are currently embarking on a school project that aims to increase job opportunities for autistic individuals. Hence, we would like to put forward a discussion here so that we can gain some opinions and feedback and modify our project.

What are some of the jobs you've undertaken?
How did you get these jobs?
Some of the challenges/obstacles you faced during the job?
Did your company train you?
What do you wish to see regarding job opportunities for you in the future?

Share with us some of your experiences. Please include your name, age and state.

Erlonman
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

12 Jul 2013, 10:33 pm

1. A. I was a paid intern for the finance department of a major electronic clearinghouse in 2006
B. I worked for UPS seasonally in 2011
C. I was an unpaid intern for a congressional campaign in 2012
D. I was a high level staff of a city council campaign in 2013
E. I now currently am an unpaid intern for a local political party.

2. A. Got recommended by my stepfather
B. Applied online
C. Found info on a flier
D. Get it through a friend from congressional campaign
E. Same as D

3. A. Mainly communicating with others in the office was difficult.
B. I often got lost at some of the residential apartments.
C. Cold Calling and getting verbally attacked was difficult
D. Having no clear structure and no clear guide was difficult
E. Again, same problems in D, but that coupled with lack of transportation from place to place.

4. A. Sort of. My job was mainly to do menial labor and double check to make sure no one made errors in excel spreadsheets.
B. Yes. I was trained to exit and enter the UPS vehicle, and also trained on how to pick up a package correctly
C. Sort of. It was mostly doing cold calls, however, and I learned a lot on the job.
D. Not at all. I was told what to do.
E. Not at all, but experiences from C and D apply to this job.