Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

JMT
Butterfly
Butterfly

16 Jul 2013, 2:28 pm

I had a hard time deciding where to place this post; I hope I can get some productive feedback.

I'm a mid-50's husband and father. I work in the technology industry, but I was trained in college to be a musician (I still do some free-lance work). Other than the musician part, I appear to be very straight-laced and somewhat boring. I was diagnosed with AS about 12 years ago. I admit now that, since then, I have not worked at confronting AS, but instead I've just looked for sympathy and pity.

I have a wife and 14 year old daughter (adopted). As a family, we are barely surviving. My wife says she has no intent to divorce me, but our relationship has grown more shallow and superficial over the years. My daughter is a smart, social, and highly competent kid, but she has been through an EXTREMELY traumatic year of boys, school changes, and social upheaval.

A couple of months ago, I took a contract job 1500 miles away from my family; the money was good, and the job was better suited to my interests and abilities. I dearly miss my home and family though.

PROBLEM: My wife and daughter seem to be happier living without me than with me. To compound matters, the stress that my daughter has been under is causing her to confront some deep seated feelings of anger toward me (as an obviously handicapped Asperger's father). I just traveled home over the weekend to see them for the first time since I left; they chose to stay at a hotel for the weekend rather than have to be under the same roof with me. I got to see them twice over the weekend, but we did not even share a meal together.

My wife says that my daughter's anger has her on the verge of suicide, and that I could only be a trigger. But, I DO love my wife and daughter--desperately! While my wife is getting ready to sell the house and move (change of climate and scenery for our daughter), I am all alone in a basement apartment 1500 miles away.