Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Keniichi
Veteran
Veteran

02 Aug 2013, 9:30 pm

All right I'm NOT good at Math, but I am good at building things with my hands, with and without instruction manuals.(I have an imagination). I was wondering what type of Engineering would I be good at(side hobby, not for a living!)? Just to specify, I am going to join my college's Computer and Engineering Club IF I can.

ParaSait
Raven
Raven

02 Aug 2013, 9:38 pm

I have a real knack for computer programming and I love engineering problems, but I'm fairly bad at plain math. :D
I don't know... I have a feeling there's not a big connection between math skills and programming/engineering skills. Both stem from logic, but they're still very different things, so from own experience I'd say don't worry about the math thing too much and go ahead... if it really interests you, you're far more likely to be(come) good at it anyway.

redrobin62
Veteran
Veteran

02 Aug 2013, 9:41 pm

Sounds like Mechanical Engineering, or one of its related fields, might suit you.

ruveyn
Veteran
Veteran

02 Aug 2013, 9:47 pm

The world needs plumbers, mechanics and repair people.

Phssthpok
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

02 Aug 2013, 10:44 pm

Getting through an engineering degree without being good at math is an uphill battle. All engineering jobs require a high level of numeracy, most require knowledge of some advanced mathematics. However the people who are good at math are just the ones who have the most dedication and the ones who fail did so because they're lazy. Everyone likes to attribute it to innate ability but 99.9% of the time that's nonsense.

Keniichi
Veteran
Veteran

02 Aug 2013, 11:06 pm

redrobin62 wrote:
Sounds like Mechanical Engineering, or one of its related fields, might suit you.

All righty.

Keniichi
Veteran
Veteran

02 Aug 2013, 11:08 pm

ONE of my friends is going into Engineering/repairing airplanes for the Air Force. He's not good at Math either, but yet he got in.

Stargazer43
Veteran
Veteran