Can't watch TV with other people around

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Wags
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

30 Sep 2013, 5:53 pm

Is this an Aspie thing? Maybe my Social Anxiety? anyone have this? I can't watch TV or listen to music with others around me for some reason, so I'm always in my room alone watching TV.

katkore
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

30 Sep 2013, 5:57 pm

I'm not an expert though I think it may well have to do with social anxiety as well as with AS.
People make noises, like standing up or moving their feet on the floor, some even comment on the scenes (me :lol: ) and this may well have something to do with sensory issues, on the other hand there is also a social component in watching tv or listening to music in company which is based on body language and potential comments on what is going on, so a sort of pressure on your passive performance or analysis ability.

ASPartOfMe
Veteran
Veteran

30 Sep 2013, 7:25 pm

I prefer watching TV or movies alone because I want to concentrate solely on one thing at a time.

“My autism is not a superpower. It also isn’t some kind of god-forsaken, endless fountain of suffering inflicted on my family. It’s just part of who I am as a person”. - Sara Luterman

Last edited by ASPartOfMe on 01 Oct 2013, 3:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

CuriousMom123
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

30 Sep 2013, 8:09 pm

Me... but it's my ADHD. You are sitting there, and that distracts me. You are breathing too loud, and that distracts me.

CuriousMom123

30 Sep 2013, 8:09 pm

Me... but it's my ADHD. You are sitting there, and that distracts me. You are breathing too loud, and that distracts me.

Kuribo
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

30 Sep 2013, 8:13 pm

When I'm playing video games, my family never, ever shut up. Yet, when they're watching TV, they expect absolute silence. This drives me insane. I can never do the things I enjoy without incessant distraction, so I end up just posting on forums in ALL of my free time, and it gets boring. :x

emimeni
Veteran
Veteran