Very worried about firing - advice

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

Jayo
Veteran
Veteran

05 Oct 2013, 11:32 pm

Hi all,

Maybe I'm being paranoid, but I have a gut feeling that I may be fired this Monday - due to my Asperger manifestations being noticed (and not appreciated) despite the fact that during the almost 5 months I've been with this organization as a systems analyst, I've been praised by my boss for doing good quality, timely work, until about the 3rd week of September and since then things have gone downhill, I think he definitely sees I'm "weird".

I've been doing systems analysis work for about a decade while never getting fired - just caught in the midst of a couple of group layoffs, and leaving voluntarily for another post - so they couldn't say that I'm not cut out for it at my current post. True, they could always resort to the usual rhetoric that "it's not a good fit" (for the environment) and it is unlikely they will give me specific feedback in that case, after all, they don't have to as it's still my probation period (6 months long, I'm in the 5th month).

The reason I think something is afoot is on Friday, I glanced in the Outlook calendar at the two meeting rooms on my floor to check them for a booking, and noticed that the HR manager had booked one of the rooms from 9-10am this Monday. My boss also has 9-10 booked then, but I can't tell from the calendar if it's in the same room. Obviously they would not have sent me the invite on Friday, if it was what I hope it isn't. I read on a couple of online sources that the best day/time to fire somebody is Monday at 9am so the employee can have 1-2 days to stew on it but still be able to search for work that week. (Some might argue that Friday would be better b/c they were planning to buy a big screen TV over the weekend, and would quickly change their mind otherwise. But I facetiously digress. )