have not made any friends at university

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

franknfurter
Veteran
Veteran

11 Oct 2013, 11:18 am

I am finding it difficult to know what to do, there was a fresher's week last week at the university I am at, which really lasted for 2 weeks, I don't know what happened but apparently everyone made friends during that time.

the problem is that I am not good at all at being spontaneous, for example these people in the years above knock on your flat and ask if you want to go out, this happen with no warning and I don't like surprises so of cause I get too anxious to even contemplate going, not only that but I get disorientated when being out at night and can't deal with loud, bright and busy places which seems to be where people were going out to.

I fee quite isolated because I just don't now how to made friends outside of the classroom setting I know and lectures are nothing like a classroom setting.

I have one friend who came to the university with me which has been a life saver as I am finding it very difficult to deal with the change of moving to university, the problem is my friend now has a boyfriend and is spending a lot of time with him and other friends from outside the university, my friends from a specific place in another country and its kind of a selective group she is being integrated into of people who speak the same language and are from the same place as she is, which means that I could not fathom joining in as they will not even be speaking English.

my main problem with getting to know people is the spontaneity problem, I really need a warning of about a day be happy doing things and I can't expect people to cater that really. now fresher's is over I am lost in terms of even meeting people

most probably a lost case but do you think there is anything I can do to meet people and make friends?

rickith
Raven
Raven

11 Oct 2013, 11:43 am

Are there any sort of clubs you could join?