Worrying that people who seem to like you secretly hate you?

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

LtlPinkCoupe
Veteran
Veteran

18 Nov 2013, 10:44 pm

Is anyone else plagued by this sort of anxiety? It's like I read too much into people's body language, their tones of voice, and if they seem annoyed or cross at all (at least according to my interpretation) and I'll be worried that I did something to p!ss them off and they're just not telling me about it, because they don't want to hurt my feelings by telling me that yes, they do indeed hate me for whatever it was I did (I have this "thing" left over from childhood where I assume that if someone's in a bad mood, it's my fault, even if I didn't even do anything) - and then later on they do/say something that reassures me that they still like me and that I didn't do anything wrong....but the anxiety is still there, almost like a cloud hanging over my head. :(

This happened to me a lot with my hostess from when I was an exchange student in Brazil for three weeks. She was very sweet, hospitable and friendly, but there were times when I worried that she was upset at me for some reason, any reason....like, I worried that she thought of me as slovenly, uncultured, childish, feeble-minded, and I worried that when she spoke in Portuguese to her friends after introducing me to them, that she was telling them, "Can you believe they stuck me with the fat socially awkward one? (not that I would have blamed her)" But then something she would do or say would prove to me that she didn't think any of those things, and that she really did like me and liked having me at her house, and that her mother, housekeeper, and brother (who I didn't meet until the day before I was to go home) did too. The family and I parted on very good terms, and I find myself thinking of them many times - I have a framed photograph of me with my hostess, her mom, and their dogs on my desk. :D When it came down to it, and after I had some time to grow accustomed to my