Turf - A computer geeks outdoor addiction

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

DIProgan
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

23 Dec 2013, 9:58 am

My special interest is a mobile game called Turf. Not Turf Wars that's another game. I've been playing it for six months and it's realy addictive while also getting me outdoors which is a realy big accomplishment as I've been the pretty much complete computer geek for 30 years.

It all started when my back began to hurt in some weird sciatica kind of pain and I realized I had to do something or I would probably end up pretty bad. I started taking walks in pure frustration over the pain and it helped but it was so very boring to just walk around aimlessly.

At that time I remembered a post in an online cardgame community about this game Turf that was supposed to be great if you wanted to get some exercise. I had found it vaguely interesting back then but since it required physical movement I was like "yeah right" and probably continued typing and clicking away on yet another 16 hour by the computer day. Now with my bad back the situation was different and I gave it a shot by using a friends smartphone since I didn't have my own. Surely enough I got hooked right away and soon thereafter my back issues where gone but not my desire to keep playing so a phone of my own was bought.

I've actualy started to enjoy going outdoors and experience new places now. I can long for the next time to leave the house to do my next Turf session. I've made friends through the game and I've lost considerable amounts of weight. All because of a little Android & iOS app.