Emetophobia and working at a nursing home....

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

26 Dec 2013, 8:38 am

I have emetophobia to the point where I consider it as a label. My fear of vomiting is just beastly. I have a very small esophagus, which makes vomiting even more petrifying because I strain my stomach really bad and it's something that I just cannot handle. I also have a fear of diarrhoea too, because those stomach cramps you get with it are so horrible. I haven't had one of these bugs in over 12 years.

But for the last 2 weeks there has been a terrible sickness and diarrhoea bug going around at the nursing home, where I work as a cleaner. I have been there over a year and this is the first time I have faced this kind of epidemic, and it seems to be ongoing. One resident after another seems to be throwing up, even the ones that don't mix and mainly sit in their rooms have been getting it too, so it must be one of those strong bugs what's quite irresistible to the immune system. Some of the staff have been off with it too, but thankfully not many of us have. I've been trying to get out of being in part of the building where I've got to clean vomit and diarrhoea up, but I'm so scared that a day is going to come where I can't get out of it. I have told people that I have this debilitating phobia, some understand but some are abrupt and just say ''well it's part of the job'', and I know that is true but I'm finding it hard to accept it. I just hate sick, and that's all there is to it.