Is it common for aspies to NOT eat in public?

Page 1 of 3 [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

TroubledPast
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

09 Feb 2014, 8:42 pm

Let's start by saying I'm new to WrongPlanet, so...hi.
Now that I feel a bit more comfortable, I wanted to ask a question: Is it common for people with Asperger's to refuse to eat in public? I was asking because I do not eat in public anymore. When I'm at school, I have to be forced to eat, which I find ridiculous. However, I have no trouble eating at home-that is, unless someone is staring straight at me.

Is this common? What do I do about it? Thanks.

StuffedMarshmallow
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

09 Feb 2014, 8:57 pm

TroubledPast wrote:
Let's start by saying I'm new to WrongPlanet, so...hi.
Now that I feel a bit more comfortable, I wanted to ask a question: Is it common for people with Asperger's to refuse to eat in public? I was asking because I do not eat in public anymore. When I'm at school, I have to be forced to eat, which I find ridiculous. However, I have no trouble eating at home-that is, unless someone is staring straight at me.

Is this common? What do I do about it? Thanks.

I hated lunch in High School. We sat at circular tables. Everywhere you looked you were staring at someone. The only other thing you could stare at was other people's food, and that made me look like a creeper. I'm so glad I am in college now. I can eat whenever and wherever I want and everyone is accepting here.

Asperger96
Veteran
Veteran

09 Feb 2014, 9:08 pm

I haven't eaten in the cafeteria in years. If I have nowhere else to go, I'll eat on the stairwell or in the drama class's costume room

redrobin62
Veteran
Veteran

09 Feb 2014, 9:26 pm

Even though I rarely go out, I do go to restaurants when I'm in the mood. Yes, I dine alone, but it seems like the places I go to always have other people eating alone. I don't mind it.

Oren
Veteran
Veteran

09 Feb 2014, 9:35 pm