Do you connect better with kids than adults?

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

meanmrmatt
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 Feb 2014, 10:46 pm

Yo.

So I'm a musician (classical), and I've also taught middle school and high school band and orchestra for six years, but it just miffed me too much when administrators kept encroaching on my style, and other teachers started getting nasty and rude to me because my students genuinely enjoyed my laid-back weirdness more than any of their other classes. Our ensembles were becoming truly awesome, recruitment was at an all-time high, and for the first time our school was producing students who were going to college to major in music... but I just couldn't stand that I was being micromanaged, criticized, and treated like the bad guy, so I quit and moved back to live with my family.

That was the end of a good thing for those students, which hurts, but I was very quickly on the road to complete burnout, and probably to having an episode, because I was already drinking too much in an attempt to clear my mind most nights.

Oh, did I mention that I'd already broken up with the girl I'd been dating for five years, bought a house on a whim, and had only recently figured out that my personal brand of weirdness sounded exactly like a lot of people I'd met online with this thing called AS? Anyways, yeah, I was transitioning, and I'm happy to say that I've managed to break out of treating my body like crap. (I still haven't gone on a date in roughly three years, but that's another story.)

While trying to figure out what else I might possibly actually want to do with my life (because I sure as sunrise don't want to work in a public school again after the way that all turned around), I was called and offered a long-term sub job teaching music at an elementary school, being the only under-employed-but-well-known person in town who is actually highly qualified to teach music.