Page 1 of 3 [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

DevilKisses
Veteran
Veteran

01 Mar 2014, 11:43 pm

Have you ever been outed as autistic without your permission? It's happened to me twice and it sucked.

The first time was through family friends. My mom told her close family friends about my diagnosis to help them understand me. Somehow that information spread to the kids.

There was this one kid who was obsessed with telling everyone he meets that I'm autistic. Years after I thought he was over his obsession I found out from my sister that he told someone else.

Joke was on him because the guy he tried to tell didn't know enough English to know what "autistic" even meant. He thought that he said I was an artist.

The other person who outed me was an Aspie girl. We met at a social skills group and we had a few things in common.

I mostly hung out with her because no one else in the group would and the other people in the group were boring or annoying. She was a bit boring and annoying as well, but she had some interesting things to say. She was still in the process of being diagnosed, so she was quite obsessed and excited about her diagnosis.

At school she started a book club. I decided to join because I wanted to support her and see if I could get back into reading. The only people who went to the meeting was me, her and some other girl.

She decided to disclose her diagnosis during the meeting. I thought it was a stupid idea to disclose it that soon. After that she disclosed my diagnosis!

I wanted to slap her so badly, but I didn't because that would make me look like a stereotypical special ed student. After that I told her to never disclose anyone's diagnosis without their permission again and I stopped talking to her afterwards.