difference between NT and autistic perseveration

Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

squaretail
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

16 Feb 2007, 2:38 pm

Many NTs perseverate on certain subjects and have the ability to hyper-focus. These traits are commonly seen in the engineering and scientific disciplines. I'm a software engineer, and an NT, and I can attest to this.

Why, then, is perseveration and hyper-focus so often seen as evidence of an ASD, when in reality, these traits just seem to be a useful personality characteristic - neither autistic or NT - just "human".

Are the types of obsessions that autistic people have fundamentally different than the types of obsessions that occupy the minds of certain NTs?

BeautyWithin
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

16 Feb 2007, 3:02 pm

Honestly I don't know what the specific differences are... but I have noticed that a lot of engineers and scientists have aspie traits even if they don't have aspergers. (My hubby is a case in point.)

It is possible that having a few of these traits may prove beneficial especially in certain job areas, but at the same time if you have too many it may affect your ability to perform or how you interact with other people.

Have you tried the aspie quiz?
http://www.rdos.net/eng/Aspie-quiz.php

squaretail
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

16 Feb 2007, 3:18 pm

BeautyWithin,

Yes, I've taken the Aspie quiz and I score about 90-100 in both my NT and Aspie scores, and it says that I'm both Aspie and Neuro-typical :?

The reason why I score high on the Aspie traits is because I have slight asocial tendencies (I'm a loner, prefer to do things on my own) and because of the previously mentioned perseverations. I do NOT have autism, however - I have no social impairments whatsoever, and I'm pretty sure you can't consider yourself autistic if you have great social skills, empathy, and the like.