Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Rascal77s
Veteran
Veteran

14 Apr 2014, 10:48 pm

I'd like to make a mechanical sketching pencil as a gift for someone, but I don't know anything about sketching pencils as I am not an artist. I'm sure some of you do pencil sketching, so maybe you can give me some information.

Approximately what size pencil do you prefer in terms of diameter?

What type of lead. Do you prefer for sketching? Do you switch between lead types?

Do you prefer a heavy or light pencil for sketching? If possible, could you give me a weight in grams or ounces of the pencils you use?

Is the look of your sketching pencil important to you? Or is it more of just a utilitarian device for you?

Is there anything you think I should know or take into consideration when making my mechanical pencil such as features you would like to see?

I can't really think of anything else but thank you if you can answer these questions, I appreciate your help.

Ganondox
Veteran
Veteran

18 Apr 2014, 3:16 am

I don't sketch with mechanical pencils, that's all I have to say.

Through other people's eyes

Autism FAQs http://www.wrongplanet.net/postt186115.html

Teyverus
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

18 Apr 2014, 10:11 am

As with the above post, I don't sketch with mechanical art pencils. But what your artist friend will probably appreciate is one with lead that makes its marks smoothly. See if you can't google one that has even graphite that doesn't scratch.

Rascal77s
Veteran
Veteran

22 Apr 2014, 6:19 am

Sorry for the late reply. I kind of gave up hope of anyone responding to my thread, so I just haven't looked at it in a while. I have to ask what is wrong with mechanical pencils for sketching? It would seem more convenient to me.

Naturalist
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

22 Apr 2014, 5:01 pm