Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

gcfleetwood
Butterfly
Butterfly

16 Apr 2014, 2:35 am

So, this is going to sound a little interesting and possibly offensive. First off, I should just say that yes, I have a diagnosed case of AS. I'm not some ***hat going around thinking I should bring salvation to the poor suffering AS heathens. Anyway, I have a friend who's a couple of years younger than me (I'm a college freshman if that's a good reference point). He basically reminds me of myself when I was younger, borderline anti-social, paranoid about people and nearly incapable of functioning normally within a group. He even has a few of the same habits like swearing profusely whenever he's uncomfortable (I'm sure that's not exactly uncommon). I, on the other hand, have gotten to the point where no one would think I'm an aspie unless I tell them, although I do still come off as a little atypical (read: kind of like an ***hole). I just want to talk to him about it, see if I could give him a few pointers to help him do better in the future (i.e. post-high school). The problem is I'm not 100% sure he's on the spectrum because he's never really admitted it, but he reminds me so much of myself at another time that I'm almost certain. That and everyone else I've mentioned it to agrees (which, of course, means almost nothing). I just don't want to cross any lines or come off like a presumptuous dick, but I feel like I could really do some good for him. Yet I'm conflicted because I myself never wanted help (but I'm the kind of arrogant ***hole who won't take help from anyone). Really I just want to talk to him, but I'm not sure how to go about it or even if I should. I mean, it's not like there's really anything wrong there, I just think if there's a chance that I could make his life a little easier it would be worth it.

Rascal77s
Veteran
Veteran

16 Apr 2014, 3:19 am

gcfleetwood wrote: