Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Ryan808206
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

23 May 2014, 12:30 am

Hey, I'm a graduate student at the University of Washington in the masters of Special Education program to get a BCBA (someone who does ABA). Went to a lecture put on by one of my classmates with aspergers. It opened up my eyes to how many silly things I've assumed/been misled about the population I'm supposed to be serving. My little brother is autistic, and I love him. I've always felt like I sucked as an older brother, most of my life revolves around making up for those mistakes and trying to support others so they can be more respectful and supportive. Please take care of me I might need some retraining on the way I think about ASD in general.

Best Regards
Ryan

Shadi2
Veteran
Veteran

23 May 2014, 3:06 am

Hello Ryan and welcome to WrongPlanet!

(the best website in my opinion)

There is a lot of information here, and the forums of course :)

BuyerBeware
Veteran
Veteran

23 May 2014, 8:05 am

Well dude, don't beat yourself up. I figure being an older sibling is a lot like being a parent (in kind of mini-version anyway). Nobody gets it perfect, because you have to do it all the time and you're learning as you go. On top of that, older siblings are just kids, learning how to live and be a human and all that, whereas at least parents are (or are supposed to be) grown-ups.

So cut yourself a break on the big brother front. Because most likely you do a pretty good job.

Relearning about ASD-- Look, everyone is relearning. Seems like even the experts need to relearn stuff; we are all relearning as we go along. Just don't get so attached to what you have been taught that you cannot see the people right in front of you.