A Good Idea? Thinking of doing AS talks at my school

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

CJH123
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

27 Jun 2014, 7:34 am

Recently after a couple of rough days as to say I'v been thinking about something apart from sorting out the state of my life and what I want which despite my troubles maybe starting ever so slowly to actually get somewhere, still a long way to go however. Anyway back to the main subject this being if or not I should Do Some Talk's with People in my School about AS, this is because well I am somebody who likes to speak out on political issues, rights etc and I think students at my school would benefit from a more personal insight from me.

This is also due to the fact my School has a Center for AS kids which is one of the only ones in this region. The kids are educated about AS but only really from the facts and because I am in my last year I would like to take the opportunity to try and cooperate with the school on a better understanding an acceptance of Disability's in general including AS. I can be when at my optimum very borderline (at-least in my view) and think I can best give an incite to both people with AS similar to me and those who are further down the spectrum (some of which we have at the school). I want to do this as its close thing to me to show people the differences in the spectrum and to try eradicate some of the bad stereotypes of AS which are not true or the facts that don't apply to everybody. Also it would be a big step for my confidence and maybe help others understand my current struggle with my own issues. People are generally accepting at my school of AS despite the odd joke but I want to take the understanding from just factual knowledge to being able to hear on a personal level and I know that would entail risks of a bad reaction but I'm willing to take that.