Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

BrittMichaela
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

24 Jul 2014, 3:56 am

I'm 20 and I've never worked or held a job before. My parents (whom are separated) refuse to help me find a job. I live with gram and there are no jobs available in her area. There's a good chance I won't be able to work since I'm naturally slow at everything I do. I even walk slow. :( Any tips on how I can find a way to support myself? I'm at a loss here.

Dantac
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2014, 12:32 pm

Any DYI jobs you could probably try?

Dog walking for example? Its not a full time job but it qualifies as part time in terms of earnings if you do it well enough. It could give you some money to start saving up.

Sweetleaf
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2014, 3:36 pm

looking for something part time, or seeing if there is anything like walking dogs...maybe watching peopes dogs/pets while they are away and/or house-sitting may be an idea to bring in a little money. I have made a little money house/pet sitting. As an adolescent I tried babysitting a few times, but came to the conclusion being responsible for other peoples children is not something I feel too comfortable with.

Or don't know how your relationship is with your grandmother, but would she potentially be willing to pay you a little to help around the house? for a while my mom was giving me 20$ a week to sweep and mop the floors to help me some. Or there is self employment but not even sure how people do that, unless they have a real skill and good enough people skills to get it going.

Otherwise if you really cannot work there is the option of SSI, but its not a lot of income and can be difficult going through the application process and appeal process if you get denied, also having medical documents/records that go in depth of your condition helps.

RetroGamer87
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2014, 11:49 pm