Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

AspieProf
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

01 Aug 2014, 1:58 pm

Yes, I made it a project to try to understand the biological causes of ASD. Now you get to hear about it.

I saw an article in the New York times today about kids growing out of Autism. It attributed improvement to a series of behaviors therapies. At the same time, other studies seems to imply that this is correlation not causation. Ten percent of kids diagnosed with Austism ?recover? regardless of treatment. I am not a doctor or medical researcher but I thought I'd post the impressions I've been getting about causes and treatments of autism from reading some of the medical literature. Please note, that is probably just as likely to be snake oil as most of the behavior programs are.

The basic mechanism of autism seems to be an attempt by the brain to achieve enhanced stimulation. The locus coeruleus, the area of the brain that regulates the level of noradrenaline in the brain, goes into overdrive. Noradrenaline governs the fight or flight response. Basically, this triggers a low level fight or flight response. Autistic sensitivity to light and sound is similar to the hypersensitivity found in an individual undergoing a danger response. This would also help explain why ADHD (brain needs stimulation, also theorized to be related to the LC) and anxiety disorders are, often, found in individuals with ASD. The locus coeruleus is also engaged when the fever response. Autism symptoms can improve when a person has a fever as the locus coeruleus seems to fall back into a default or ?normal? state.(1)