I want to go back to school but I'm afraid of failing again

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

starbead
Butterfly
Butterfly

08 Aug 2014, 3:13 pm

I barely graduated from high school due to poor executive function (now I know what to call it!) and apathy towards school due to depression and boredom and anxiety. After awhile, I didn't really care. My ACT test scores were top 10th percentile, but I graduated with a C average (2.5 GPA).

College was more difficult. The first time I almost graduated. My focus was on one of my obsessions (theology), so staying interested was easy, plus I was living with my ultra-extroverted cousin who understood me and was able to help me with the more social aspects of college. Because of this support, I had a lot of fun and quite a few friends, but the social requirements were taking their toll. I was on my last semester when I was sent home because of Hurricane Ivan and my overprotective mother. My momentum was derailed, and I didn't make it back.

I tried to get a degree online after that. Twice. Failed both times. Same problems I had in high school: after a few weeks of trying to keep things going, I just didn't care anymore. I really wanted to care, but I didn't know how to. I had a hard time focusing on the assignments and couldn't get the work done. Even the online participation was challenging. I am still paying for some of those classes...

I figured I'd try again because I really like learning, so I relocated to another state again to try a new school similar to the first one I attended. I couldn't afford classes right away, so I was planning on working through the first semester and attending the next one.