Stuck on details instead of seeing the whole picture.

Page 1 of 3 [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

rebbieh
Veteran
Veteran

23 Sep 2014, 10:00 am

I've understood that it's common for people with AS/ASD to notice and get stuck on details and that's true for me as well (which became very obvious to me during my assessment).

I'm a university student (which is really tough for me but I love learning things) and many times I've thought about how I seem to find it difficult to see "the whole picture" when learning things. When for example studying molecular cell biology and learning about different things in the cell (its organelles, different signaling pathways etc. etc.) I learn the different parts separately but find it difficult to put the parts together to see how the whole cell functions. I know how it functions and I've noticed how I often learn many more details than the others in my class (they have even laughed about the level of detail I learn) but it's hard to see exactly how the parts are connected. It all usually works out in the end though (as long as I spend a lot of time studying) and my grades are really good. But yeah, sometimes it's quite frustrating not really seeing the whole picture unless it's explained to me.