Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

SteelMaiden
Veteran
Veteran

27 Oct 2014, 9:06 am

I am a BSc Pharmacology student at UCL (a uni in London). My tutor has said the following things (and many more but I can't remember them all):

1. I had a one-to-one session with the head fire officer and my support worker came with me; it was to avoid the massively crowded room that the fire safety talk was done (I had the one-to-one in a quiet room), and also to discuss with my support worker what can be done if the fire alarm goes off and I start freaking out (sensory overload). My support worker is with me full-time at uni. My tutor told me off for seeing the fire officer one to one and said that I was "pushing my support too far".

2. Recently he emailed me saying that I missed a test and how rude and badly behaved I was for missing a test. It turned out that this test never took place and it wasn't even advertised. My tutor said that if I don't make any effort, how can I expect to be a student. But there was no announcement about a test, and my support worker asked the biochemistry lecturer if there was a test and she said that it never took place.

3. My tutor said to me "stop relying on your support workers, you need to be independent". I am badly affected by autism, I can barely leave the house on my own and I need government-funded taxis to get to uni (my tutor would probably go mad if he found out I get funded taxis).

4. Tutor had a huge go at me not going to Freshers Week, despite that the first time that I ever went I had multiple meltdowns and had to stop attending.

He basically has very little, if any, understanding of autism and often insults me for being autistic. He says things like "don't exaggerate" or "make an effort".

Can anyone advise? I was thinking of asking to change tutors but I don't want to create a hate war.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

27 Oct 2014, 9:13 am

Yep...it sounds like your tutor doesn't understand autism too well.