How old is too old to not have a career yet?

Page 1 of 6 [ 95 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

WantToHaveALife
Veteran
Veteran

10 Nov 2014, 3:01 pm

A career, as in the job you are going to be working at for the rest of your life, the job that is gonna make you a living, pay the bills, putting food on the table, being financially stable, because i'm 26, almost 27 and only making minimum-wage, no college degree, just a high school diploma, I had been going to community college on and off since I graduated high school but never finished, for a while never really knew what I wanted to do and still not entirely sure, lacked the motivation and ambition, still kinda do, wish I could find the motivation, other areas of my life have made it difficult for me focus and work hard on this area of my life in terms of working on my future, getting my life together, etc.

I would say mainly due to my lack of success with women(still haven't had a girlfriend yet) and not having the type of social life I've always desired, not having a group of extroverted friends, a large social circle, overall, difficulty in the social world and dating world has made it very difficult for me to focus on the academic and career-planning aspect of my life, I mention academic because it seems we are fed through by the media and constantly from other people that having a college degree or some type of college education, like even a certificate, is essential, imperative for getting a high paying job, or just a job that pays well above minimum-wage, but i'm not an expert on the qualification requirements, but anyway.

Am I the only one in this boat, situation, oldest? my gut feeling tells me i'm not but just wondering if anyone else can relate to what i'm going through or just used to go through what I am going through

AspieUtah
Veteran
Veteran

10 Nov 2014, 3:21 pm