Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

ThatBear
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

30 Nov 2014, 6:17 pm

Hi all, I'm new to this board. I'm an undergraduate college student at a public university in the U.S., and I've returned to school in my thirties after a couple of earlier attempts.

My classes are mostly large lectures (110+ students), with smaller discussion sections of about forty people that meet once a week. The large lectures were difficult for me at first: the room gets very crowded, and there are lots of sounds and smells. I have to choose whether to sit in the front, and have people sitting close to me and behind me, or in the back, where it's harder to see and hear and I risk being distracted by the ocean of laptops open in front of me. I go with the back, because then there is no chance someone will knee me in the head, and it's easier to find a seat where no one will sit next to me. (I need to mention that I don't dislike people, not at all, I just don't like it when people I don't know are very close to me.)