Do Math/Tech Aspies do better than the 75% unemployment rate

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

Unsure123
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

17 Dec 2014, 6:15 pm

Hello WP,

Unfortunately, after reading more about autism, I've resigned myself to the fact that I probably have it(being some form of ASD), after much cursing about psychologists/the person who said I might have it and a bit of self-loathing, due to stimming, subpar cue recognition, and intense interests. Hearing "autism" ascribed to me the first time was a huge blow to my ego/self-esteem, because there was a lot of truth to it. (Note: please don't take this in the wrong way as me saying that autists are bad people or anything; I just hated having that label ascribed to me, for better or for worse.)

The good news is that I've been a solid student in high school and did a lot of extracurriculars/community service, and got accepted into Stanford University. Looks like the 4 years of pretty serious studying in high school paid off. :)

Since the news of my acceptance, a bunch of my friends are saying that I'm "set for life" or "will go really far/make a lot of money", etc. I really hope they're right, but I have a sinking feeling they're not.

What scares me is that oft-cited 75% unemployment for Aspies/ASDs. I really, really don't want to be a member of that camp of the unemployed when I graduate college, which I am sure I am capable of doing.

What I was wondering is, how much better is the employment number for Aspies/ASD with math/science interests (I'm thinking of a math/cs major as I really like data analytics) and solid grades/test scores? I think it's a safe assumption more than 25% of ASDs who graduated from Stanford got jobs, but the data seems so limited. Any anecdotal experience would also be appreciated.