Schools and their focus on Careers and Colleges

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

superpentil
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

07 Jan 2015, 6:01 pm

Can anyone tell me why? Schools do things like College/Career Day, force students to take classes on things like what is and what isn't acceptable on resumes and all this and that and a lot of the time, if you don't go to college you're treated like scum at least at the schools I've attended. Most of those things are absolutely worthless and just annoy. Schools also, when they do, try to teach something that will be helpful, they teach a runned down version that is near worthless in the long run. My last high school tried to do this programming curriculum, which could be very helpful. I didn't need it as I'm an alright programmer before hand but when I saw the stuff they were learning I was disgusted. It's little games two year olds can do given a little practice. Teaching that to high schoolers? Seriously, that's like taking a kid, showing him how to ride a bike with training wheels and then when he has that down, throwing him into a cross country bike race and expecting him to win. He'll get destroyed.

Teachers are no help at all. Whenever stuff gets to me, they usually ask me "What are you going to do if you can't get a job or go to college? You should think about that." I wish I could say "In fact, I do think about that a lot. So much so that every situation I can think of ends badly so I end up just depressed and suicidal at the end of the thinking session. There's nothing I can do and there's nothing you can do to fix this. You say I need to learn how to function in a group, well I've said, I know, and you've seen that I can't. I do not fit into the plan your superiors tell you to assimilate us into, and I don't ever want to. So please, go away!" I wish I could say things like that, but I can't.