Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

GoatOnFire
Veteran
Veteran

14 Mar 2007, 5:39 pm

This is one of the things that I am the very worst at, both at giving and receiving.

I'm not sure completely why, but I'm not very good at giving compliments out. What's ironic is most of the time I am afraid of offending the person. I always get the feeling that whenever I compliment someone, it either came out wrong, or I just get a feeling that they think that I just want something from them and I'm trying to get it through flattery. Complimenting the opposite sex is especially hard for me. I get really nervous, and I'm always afraid that they will take it the wrong way. I want to know how to do it properly. I actually like a lot of the people on this board but I don't know how to get the point across. I'm going to start practicing it, so beware, I'm going to be sending out random compliments for no reason and see how people respond.

I'm terrible at receiving compliments too. I have no idea what to say. Almost no one ever compliments me, but I do remember one time a couple years ago when someone actually gave me a compliment and I just froze, I had no idea what to say. I'd like to know how to handle that just in case someone ever decides to compliment me again.

I think I'm probably not the only one here with this problem but I've never seen anyone else bring it up.

Kosmonaut
Veteran
Veteran

14 Mar 2007, 6:38 pm

I have no success at giving compliments. I say something in sincerity and there's a good chance it will appear to be percieved as sarcasm. No idea why.

I used to feel embarassed and never really knew how to take a compliment. But have since learned that a simple 'thank you' is sufficient.

tinky
Veteran
Veteran

14 Mar 2007, 7:15 pm

i become nervous when someone compliments me.

tinky's WP Mod email account: [email protected]

you may tire of the world but the world will never tire of you

Graelwyn
Veteran
Veteran

14 Mar 2007, 8:28 pm