Best and Worst Jobs for Adults with Autism

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

brightmorning
Butterfly
Butterfly

02 Mar 2015, 8:22 pm

Hey everyone, I found this interesting article that lists 34 jobs they think are the best and 10 jobs that are the worst for adults with autism..

http://www.emaxhealth.com/11406/34-best-and-10-worst-jobs-adults-autism

I think the list is fairly accurate because I know on the worst list I've been a cashier, waitress, and a receptionist which would start off ok, but after a while I couldn't handle it anymore and quit. I'm currently a graphic designer which is a decent job, but I don't actually make enough to survive, so I'm trying to explore other options, preferably work-at-home ones. :|

So anyway, check out the article.. what do you think? Do you agree with their findings?

ghoti
Veteran
Veteran

02 Mar 2015, 8:50 pm

Telemarketing belongs in the worst, not the best, along with other sales jobs.

brightmorning
Butterfly
Butterfly

02 Mar 2015, 9:10 pm

ghoti wrote:

Oh yeah, I didn't catch that. I read it but it didn't click. I agree, telemarketing definitely belongs in the worst.. I worked at a telemarketing place once and managed to survive the training and then worked for about two weeks until I just couldn't do it anymore. It was I think the worst job ever.

Thanks for pointing that out!

Sweetleaf
Veteran
Veteran

02 Mar 2015, 9:35 pm

ghoti wrote:

Yeah not sure where they got the bright idea, telemarketing would ever be good for people with autism in general...it does require social skills, phone skills and a certain amount of being able to tolerate rudeness without too much emotional turmoil since much of the time people just hang up on them or will go as far as meanly b*tching them out before hanging up. Not sure that sounds like something most people with autism are all that great at.