I'm New at WP and ready for some serious protesting! (LONG)

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

jamlingsherpa
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

17 Mar 2007, 3:53 am

I am Jamling Sherpa, an autistic 24 yo male from Pensacola and I have absolutely had it with my parents limiting me where I can go, what I can do, and what I can have. Here is a list of the things I am either restricted from having or downright banned:

I am not allowed to have:

an automobile (or anything with an engine for that matter), that means no cars, motorcycles, not even a simple moped to get round town!

The bus system here is pathetic, it doesnt run but once an hour, it literally takes a MINIMUM of 3 (THREE!) HOURS to get anywhere. That means I cannot go to the mall, the airport, or some government offices that I need to go to. Because of this, and the fact that my parents are ALWAYS working, I cannot go anywhere. In a typical week, I am out of the house maybe twice, and that is when I get to go to the supermarket <sacastic>Yay, how fun!</sarcastic> or do misc errands with my parents. Every once in a while, I feel like going to the cinema to see a movie.

The net effect of this is I will never get to experience the thrill of the "open road", the wind in my hair, the freedom of being able go places when you want, where you want and the general happiness that comes from owning same.

Another thing I can't have is a credit card. I would like to have one, but my parents say I am not responsible enough. I receive 415 dollars from the government in the form of an SSI cheque. I only get it ONCE A MONTH. Do you know how depressing it is? I can't go on trips, I will never be able to rent or own my own house, and I will never get to buy a fancy piece of electronics, because I would have to wait literally 6 months or longer, by then, the piece of electronics is ridiculously out of date anyway.