Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

zeldapsychology
Veteran
Veteran

19 Apr 2015, 3:42 pm

I was just recently taken off disability at age 29 (had it for 8 years). Now I have to look for a job and am scared to death. My ONLY work experience is Mcdonald's for 3 months in 2006 (before the disability took affect.) I had anxiety/depression/stress and it was only a 3 day Part time job. Come home depressed tired go to bed (go to wrk the following day.) Since then from 2010-2014 I got an AA degree and BS in Criminal Justice but sadly no work experience still. I'm not sure I could handle a retail job (Walmart/target etc.) even part time considering my Mcdonald's fast food experience. My mom suggests an office filing stuff but I'm not sure how that would even work considering my past anxiety/stress/depression in my first job experience scared me away from even getting a job.

Any tips? I've looked into local CJ jobs and found nothing and my mom insists with ZERO work experience even with the college I wouldn't get hired. :-( My local Target Publix etc. aren't hiring. I'm feeling defeated. :-(

Not to mention possibly having to do full time to make ends meet income wise. :-(

Any help would be appreciated thanks WP.

ok
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

20 Apr 2015, 4:12 am

You need some extra education. Perhaps an associate's degree or some sort of office training. If you have a driver's license, you can drive a taxi or something bigger.

I understand that you are scared of working. But you have to try somehow. Good luck and keep writing about it.

ElsaFlowers
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

22 Apr 2015, 3:34 am