Creating a social group for adolescents and teens

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Rolzup
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

21 Apr 2015, 3:13 pm

(I am not entirely certain that this is the right forum for this, so if there's somewhere it would be a better fit please let me know....)

My eldest son is ten, on the spectrum, and has very very few friends. He's an extremely social kid, very outgoing and extroverted (very much the opposite of myself), but just doesn't know how to deal with his peers. He's seen as "weird", and generally is either teased or ignored by the kids at school when he talks at them about his obsessions (Minecraft and Pokemon, at the moment).

I'm a librarian, and I've been running a Minecraft club at my library for a few months now. In the course of this, I've had a lot of autistic kids showing up to participate (including my sons), and after a long conversation with another parent last week, I've come to the conclusion that I need to do more. We've both experienced a difficulty finding any social skills groups for kids in our area, or even just informal playgroups. I'm in a position to do something about that, and I'm working on a grant proposal so that I can get some funding to aid in the progress.

All I want to do is put together a sort of social group, where autistic kids can come together to talk and share their interests. I'm not a therapist, and I'm not going to try to be; the important bit is to give these kids (and their families) a chance to meet each other. I know all too well how isolated and lonely my son is feeling, and I know that he's far from alone in this. I'm hoping to run this at least once a month, maybe twice, on evenings between 6:00 and 8:00 PM.

I'm hoping on input on two matters: