How do you deal with people trying to interact with your kid

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

TheSperg
Toucan
Toucan

26 Apr 2015, 2:08 am

My son is four and non-verbal, he basically totally ignores strangers and isn't going to interact with them PERIOD.

I'm ok with people trying to interact with him, but they sometimes "latch on" and get nasty verbally or seem like they want me to explain or something and I wish I could just say WALK AWAY to them(I'm not very good at dealing with people myself heh). They don't seem to understand how to let go of the attempted interaction, and I usually just stand there with a blank expression not knowing what to do.

Me and my wife had taken to saying he was deaf when he was younger, saying he is shy doesn't work it just makes them more insistent, and saying he has autism isn't great either because most aren't even sure what it is or want a more detailed story.

An example is tonight an employee at the grocery tried to give him a high five, my son of course won't even look at him, so he just holds his hand there looking at him, then at me like he expected me to do something, then at him again. Some people say nasty stuff like "what a rude child" or "why do you have that child so rude".

ellemenope
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

26 Apr 2015, 3:16 am

It's hard beginning to navigate these waters. When they grow out of the baby stage people start having expectations that are just not appropriate for our kids.