Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

RetroGamer87
Veteran
Veteran

03 Jun 2015, 9:16 am

I've been in my job since the beginning of the year. At the moment I'm working 5.5 hours per day, Monday to Friday. which is not a large amount. But I've been worried about something. I worry than when I enter the workforce proper (instead of just being a junior) in either the same job I'm in now or a different job (maybe programming since that's what I'm studying at the moment) that I'll be expected to work unreasonable hours.

I keep reading stuff on the internet about people working 12 hour days and I'm worried that it could become the norm instead of the exception. I read about things like unpaid overtime (not for salaried employees, for workers who are paid by the hour). I read things like this. Here's an example closer to home for me.

That last example was a bit less exaggerated. I realize something like Mother Jones could be exaggerated for political purposes. The other example ended on a high note but the thing that really bothered me was when they said nowadays it's common for workers to be given a set number of tasks per day instead of a set number of hours.

That one little detail terrifies me. For one thing, I'm kind of slow at work. I'm slow at a lot of things. I think part of the reason has to do with executive function. What I mean is when I have to deal with lots of little tasks, I get slowed down. I get slowed down switching from one task to another and it takes time for me to remember what I'm doing. If my goal is to accomplish task A but that requires task B to be completed and that requires task C to be completed but then the networks down so instead I should use this downtime to accomplish task D but that requires Task E... I spend so much time thinking about what I need to do that it takes up a lot of time.